J. Ambery was private secretary to William Robins of Hiram Walker
& Sons when his house was built. He died at an early age, and the
property was acquired by a former office boy, William Isaacs, in
1915. By that time, Isaacs had become Assistant Treasurer of the
firm and, shortly thereafter, a director.
National attention focused on Walkerville in 1910 when Foxley was
featured in The American Architect & Building News. The design,
while Tudoresque in particular, is generally in the Arts & Crafts
mode which drew much of its inspiration from a variety of early
picturesque styles, adapting them to modern construction methods.
The half-timbered upper storey and gable, and the entrance portico
blend Medieval and early 20 th Century in a harmonious manner.
name of the house - Foxley - was carved over the entrance as much
to give an antique air to the house as to provide the postman with
a means of determining the mailís destination at a time before street
numbers. Few houses in Walkerville can match the architectural merits
of Foxley in detail, proportion, site and workmanship.